Espaol English Portugues Alemn

History of Pirque


Only 40 minutes from Santiago, this year round tourist destination is known for its picturesque scenery, multiple renowned vineyards, and flora and fauna. Pirque is one of the most beautiful places in the Metropolitan Region.

The “Haciendas” (or farms), which form part of the town of Pirque, go back to the times immediately after the Spanish conquest. At first, the lands were used for raising cattle and farming. Later, after the construction of "La Sirena" canal in 1834 – ordered by Ramón Subercaseaux – Pirque’s surroundings began to change. His son-in-law, Melchor de Concha y Toro, married to Emiliana Subercaseaux, brought the wine industry to Pirque.

Pirque has kept its beauty intact with “little” impact from urban development, thanks to strict regulations limiting growth. The town’s fertile lands, ideal for wineries such as "Concha y Toro", "El Principal", and "William Févre", among others. Pirque has thousands of square kilometers of hills, rivers, natural parks, mountains, and a diversity of attractive flora and fauna. It is called an island because the “Maipo” river surrounds it. Another river is the “Río Clarillo”, a natural reserve with many other beautiful sites.

Pirque is also known by its people. Different social and cultural classes meet here without any conflict. Some of the farmers here have never left their lands.

Pirque, just like any other rural place, is full of stories, fables, and legends - among which are the “Cristo Negro” (the Black Christ) and “Casillero del Diablo” (the Devil’s Cellar). It is at the Concha y Toro winery where you find one of the many cellars with this name on one of its wines.